01307 462316
Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 6 PM

Practice Closures

When we are closed and where to go for help

Public Holidays & Protected Learning Days, 2019-20

Posted: 18 January 2019 · Practice news

We will be closed all day on the following public holidays, as agreed by NHS Tayside for General Practice:

  • Monday 8 April 2019
  • Monday 22 April 2019
  • Monday 6 May 2019
  • Monday 27 May 2019
  • Monday 22 July 2019
  • Monday 7 October 2019
  • Wednesday 25 December 2019
  • Thursday 26 December 2019
  • Wednesday 1 January 2020
  • Thursday 2 January 2020

We will be closed from 12:30pm on the following days for training and staff development:

  • Wednesday 1 May 2019 (closed from 12:30pm)
  • Wednesday 5 June 2019 (closed from 12:30pm)
  • Wednesday 21 August 2019 (closed from 12:30pm)
  • Wednesday 6 November 2019 (closed from 12:30pm)

During times we are closed

If you take regular medications, please ensure you check you have enough left to cover times we are closed. It's also important not to over order, so only request what you need, and make sure you don’t run out of anything during that time. Find out how to order repeat prescriptions. Remember, if you have a long term condition, you may also qualify for long term repeat prescriptions.

If you are ill on a day or time when the surgery is closed and you can’t wait until it reopens, check who you should contact. Help may be available from a range of NHS services, from your pharmacy and minor injuries unit, to NHS Inform and NHS 24 on 111.

Always dial 999 in the event of an emergency.

Academy Medical Centre

We are one of the largest GP practices in Tayside, Scotland, with approximately 10,000 patients on our list.

The surgery is open Monday to Friday from 8am - 6pm (except public holidays).

Academy Medical Centre
Academy Street
Forfar
DD8 2HA
Tel: 01307 462316
Email: academymc.tayside@nhs.net